Day Thirteen – Bad Luck, the Government is On To Me

Posted on December 9, 2011

2


My sincerest apologies for a two day lag in posting my pictures. The reason is I am having ever more trouble accessing my bloghost.

I first arrived in China in April this year and decided to start my blog (loyal readers will remember my original inspiration , for new readers, does it not seem appropriate that Campari be my muse?) A novice in the blogosphere, I looked around for a bloghost that was not only easy to use, but also not blocked in China. My second requirement reduced my options rather dramatically, but i finally settled on wordpress, with which i have been largely satisfied. Here in China, i have no option but to subscribe to a VPN (virtual private network). This is a sneaky piece of technology that streams your internet through a foreign host so you are not subject to the local restrictions. Another handy feature of this software is that you can choose which country you stream through, which has two great benefits: 1) All advertisements are in the language of that country, and I find advertisements in Danish or Hindi for example, to be much less offensive. 2) You can choose Australia,which means you can watch iView! This is a great piece of advice for any homesick Australians out there (although please note, there’s no such thing as a free lunch or even feast for the eyes, the software does cost money). Thanks to my trusty VPN i have been able to stay up to date with all the big TV events of the year such as Go Back to Where You Came From and The Slap (can anyone explain why it was ok for Aisha to cheat and not poor earnest Hector?) Oh gosh, how have i written so much and not gotten to the point yet? I’m so easily distracted. Get on with it (yes, get on with it!)

So,  wordpress now been blocked. A shame. Worse still is the fact that recently, notwithstanding my VPN, my access to the site is getting more and more difficult. I think the government has cottoned on to my religious reading of China analysis and contentious Chinese activist’s writing. Perhaps I should be more careful, but as the famed Chinese proverb states: 山高皇帝远 (translation: the mountains are tall and the emperor is far away). I have not been able to log on for three days now, so finally I arrive at the point: the explanation for the title and my lack of posting. Sorry for being so 罗嗦, one of my favourite Chinese words which means verbose and troublesome.

Wednesday’s picture is of interesting stationery in my office. Have you ever seen such an diverse assortment of scissors in your life? As for the stamp, in China, an official document is simply not official

Strange Stationeries

unless it has a red, inky stamp.

 

