Day Eight – Lu Jian

Posted on December 3, 2011

2


This is a friend of mine, Lu Jian. Unfortunately I had to cut out his delightful wife, Tian Tian, because the photo caught her in a slightly personal, mid-mouthful moment. Standby for a photo where you will meet Tian Tian properly, she’s beautiful.

Lu Jian is a clever, sporty guy originally from Shanxi province, in the north of China. Strangely enough, he plays Aussie rules football.  He keeps his hair very short because it’s so hot in Nanning. He is my much appreciated source of movie recommendations, dirty jokes and Chinese swear words.

Lu Jian

If you look carefully at the contents of Lu Jian’s bowl (be sure to shield your eyes from the harsh flouro green of my table – that’s furniture in China – remember the kitchen cupboards at my last place) you will see what I decided to call ‘cement soup’. ‘Tis the season to be jolly at home in Australia but in Nanning ’tis the season of the purple sweet potato. Last night I made some into a soup. I am not ashamed to admit that I thoroughly enjoyed pretending I was eating cement.

